Archive | Miscellaneous

This category if for information that does not deal directly with the pension plan but is of general interest to members of the system.

LEOFF Benefit Improvement Bills

GOOD NEWS! SINCE SSB 5791 PASSED THE LEGISLATURE, WAS SIGNED BY THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE AND THE PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE ON MARCH 8TH, WAS DELIVERED TO THE GOVERNOR ON MARCH 9TH, AND SIGNED BY THE GOVERNOR ON MARCH 24, 2022 For this reason, the Washington State Department of Retirement Systems (“DRS”) has put […]

Continue Reading

SSB 5791 | The Next Step

THE HOUSE APPROPRIATIONS COMMITTEE UNANIMOUSLY VOTED ON FEBRUARY 24TH TO GIVE SSB 5791 A “DO PASS” RECOMMENDATION THIS MEANS THAT THE BILL NOW GOES TO THE RULES COMMITTEE FOR ANOTHER VOTE. PLEASE SEND EMAILS TO EACH REPRESENTATIVE ON THE RULES COMMITTEE ASKING FOR THEIR SUPPORT OF SSB 5791. The House Appropriations Committee today voted unanimously […]

Continue Reading

House Appropriations Emails

House Appropriations Committee Members:  https://leg.wa.gov/House/Committees/APP/Pages/MembersStaff.aspx  Committee Members email addresses: Timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov Steve.Berquist@leg.wa.gov Mia.Gregerson@leg.wa.gov Nicole.Macri@leg.wa.gov Drew.Stokesbary@leg.wa.gov Kelly.Chambers@leg.wa.gov Chris.Corry@leg.wa.gov Drew.MacEwen@leg.wa.gov Matt.Boehnke@leg.wa.gov Michelle.Caldier@leg.wa.gov Bruce.Chandler@leg.wa.gov Paul.Harris@leg.wa.gov Larry.Hoff@leg.wa.gov Cyndy.Jacobsen@leg.wa.gov Debra.Lekanoff@leg.wa.gov Gerry.Pollet@leg.wa.gov Skyler.Rude@leg.wa.gov Cindy.Ryu@leg.wa.gov Joe.Schmick@leg.wa.gov Tana.Senn@leg.wa.gov Larry.Springer@leg.wa.gov Mike.Steele@leg.wa.gov MonicaJurado.Stonier@leg.wa.gov Pat.Sullivan@leg.wa.gov Steve.Tharinger@leg.wa.gov  Frank.Chopp@leg.wa.gov Eileen.Cody@leg.wa.gov Laurie.Dolan@leg.wa.gov Laurie.Dolan@leg.wa.gov Mary.Dye@leg.wa.gov Joe.Fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov Noel.Frame@leg.wa.gov Drew.Hansen@leg.wa.gov Jesse.Johnson@leg.wa.gov

Continue Reading

SSB 5791 nears the goal post.

It took a good amount of effort by a lot of people, but we have managed to get this bill through the Senate.  It represents a significant benefit enhancement for all LEOFF 1 members — basically a lump sum payment of $100 per month of service to be paid next January.  So if you worked […]

Continue Reading

Legislative Update | LEOFF2

Senate Bill 5652 passed in the Senate Ways and Means Committee and was referred to the Senate Rules Committee. That occurred on January 27th. Currently it remains in Rules. The companion House Bill 1701 has passed out of Appropriations and was put forward to the House Floor without a hearing in House Rules. It appears […]

Continue Reading

Support SB 5791

What to do? There are two pension bills being considered by the Senate Ways and Means Committee SB 5652 for LEOFF 2 and SB 5791 for LEOFF 1.  Both bills address the same subject, an enhanced benefit, a payment to members and surviving spouses out of each pension system surplus.  SB 5652 provides a benefit […]

Continue Reading

WSCFF Letter and Pension Bills

The Washington State Council of Firefighters (WSCFF) has sent out a letter to approximately 6,800 LEOFF 1 members.  It is a recruitment letter along with a DRS payroll deduction form for a $6.00 per month deduction or $72.00 per year.  The dues are equal to 25 percent of an active firefighter’s dues. The letter was […]

Continue Reading