Author Archive | Admin

Scammer Alert

We have learned that scammers are contacting LEOFF retirees by phone and requesting personal information. The scammers are posing as representatives of the Washington State Department of Retirement Systems (DRS). DRS will NOT call you to get personal information or about the benefit enhancement. They are mailing letters to all retirees and emailing when email information […]

Continue Reading

LEOFF Benefit Improvement Bills

GOOD NEWS! SINCE SSB 5791 PASSED THE LEGISLATURE, WAS SIGNED BY THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE AND THE PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE ON MARCH 8TH, WAS DELIVERED TO THE GOVERNOR ON MARCH 9TH, AND SIGNED BY THE GOVERNOR ON MARCH 24, 2022 For this reason, the Washington State Department of Retirement Systems (“DRS”) has put […]

Continue Reading

SSB 5791 Passes the House

Last night the House passed 5791. That means it is through the House and the Senate so the next step is for the Governor’s signature. Since the bill passed both the Senate and House with no nay votes we do not anticipate any problems–of course this is still the government so it is not done […]

Continue Reading

SSB 5791 | The Next Step

THE HOUSE APPROPRIATIONS COMMITTEE UNANIMOUSLY VOTED ON FEBRUARY 24TH TO GIVE SSB 5791 A “DO PASS” RECOMMENDATION THIS MEANS THAT THE BILL NOW GOES TO THE RULES COMMITTEE FOR ANOTHER VOTE. PLEASE SEND EMAILS TO EACH REPRESENTATIVE ON THE RULES COMMITTEE ASKING FOR THEIR SUPPORT OF SSB 5791. The House Appropriations Committee today voted unanimously […]

Continue Reading

House Appropriations Emails

House Appropriations Committee Members:  https://leg.wa.gov/House/Committees/APP/Pages/MembersStaff.aspx  Committee Members email addresses: Timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov Steve.Berquist@leg.wa.gov Mia.Gregerson@leg.wa.gov Nicole.Macri@leg.wa.gov Drew.Stokesbary@leg.wa.gov Kelly.Chambers@leg.wa.gov Chris.Corry@leg.wa.gov Drew.MacEwen@leg.wa.gov Matt.Boehnke@leg.wa.gov Michelle.Caldier@leg.wa.gov Bruce.Chandler@leg.wa.gov Paul.Harris@leg.wa.gov Larry.Hoff@leg.wa.gov Cyndy.Jacobsen@leg.wa.gov Debra.Lekanoff@leg.wa.gov Gerry.Pollet@leg.wa.gov Skyler.Rude@leg.wa.gov Cindy.Ryu@leg.wa.gov Joe.Schmick@leg.wa.gov Tana.Senn@leg.wa.gov Larry.Springer@leg.wa.gov Mike.Steele@leg.wa.gov MonicaJurado.Stonier@leg.wa.gov Pat.Sullivan@leg.wa.gov Steve.Tharinger@leg.wa.gov  Frank.Chopp@leg.wa.gov Eileen.Cody@leg.wa.gov Laurie.Dolan@leg.wa.gov Laurie.Dolan@leg.wa.gov Mary.Dye@leg.wa.gov Joe.Fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov Noel.Frame@leg.wa.gov Drew.Hansen@leg.wa.gov Jesse.Johnson@leg.wa.gov

Continue Reading

SSB 5791 nears the goal post.

It took a good amount of effort by a lot of people, but we have managed to get this bill through the Senate.  It represents a significant benefit enhancement for all LEOFF 1 members — basically a lump sum payment of $100 per month of service to be paid next January.  So if you worked […]

Continue Reading

Senate Rules Committee Email

Contact Rules Committee Members We have attached a list of the names of the Senators and encourage you to contact them to request their support.  You can call, email or call the Legislative Hot Line at 1-800-562-6000 to leave a message for your Senator or for any Senator on the list.  The email address for […]

Continue Reading