5453 Research

The following articles deal with merger issues. There are lots more on this site but these should provide some good background info. TRS Underfundinghttps://leoff1.net/2016/09/04/trs-underfunding/ By Admin on September 4, 2016 in 2016 Legislature, LEOFF 1/TRS 1 Merger, Merger One of the major concerns of LEOFF 1 members about the proposed TRS 1/LEOFF 1 merger is […]

Continue Reading

2021 Legislature – Senate Ways & Means

Senate Ways and Means Committee Phone Email Christine Rolfes, (360) 786-7644 christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov David Frockt, (360) 786-7690 david.frockt@leg.wa.gov June Robinson, (360) 786-7674 june.robinson@leg.wa.gov Lynda Wilson, (360) 786-7632 lynda.wilson@leg.wa.gov Sharon Brown, (360) 786-7614 sharon.brown@leg.wa.gov Jim Honeyford, (360) 786-7684 jim.honeyford@leg.wa.gov Mark Schoesler, (360) 786-7620 mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov John Braun (360) 786-7638 john.braun@leg.wa.gov Reuven Carlyle (360) 786-7670 reuven.carlyle@leg.wa.gov Steve Conway (360) […]

Continue Reading

Here we go again!

On Friday the 12th a new bill was dropped in the Senate.That bill, SB 5453, is the latest version of a merger.(Download the bill here.) This new plan would do the following: Merge TRS Plan 1 and LEOFF Plan 1 into a new retirement system, called “the merged LEOFF1/TRS1 retirement plan. Provides a $20,000 payment […]

Continue Reading

Public Records Request

The Department of Retirement Systems has received a public records request that The Seattle Times seeks information about all members of the state’s retirement systems, including all retirees and inactive members, for the period July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020. This is a recurring request, and DRS has provided to this requestor the same […]

Continue Reading

Agent Orange Benefits

Notice to all LEOFF members and fellow Veterans who served in the military during the Vietnam War, January 9, 1962-May 7,1975. Some of you may have a disability caused by exposure to Agent Orange during that time and don’t even know it. There are a couple requirements that have to be met to include boots […]

Continue Reading

A Roller Coaster Ride

The new session of the Legislature will commence on 1/11/2021.  This is a three-month session and will be unique in that it will be mostly virtual via the Zoom platform.  Many of you may have been using this to meet with grand kids and relatives during the Covid plague.  Otherwise, it is fairly simple to […]

Continue Reading

Comments from King County Paramedics

July 23, 2020 King County Paramedics – IAFF Local 2595Post Office Box 5310  Kent, WA      98064 – 5310 ****OPEN LEITER TO THE CITIZENS OF KING COUNTY•••• We wish we had the answers to racial inequality and racism. We don’t, but we recognize that African American communities are in pain and rightfully so. The lAFF Local […]

Continue Reading

Legislation/Cronovirus/Riots

Many have recently received a mailing from the Coalition.  It looks like a membership application but really is just another fundraiser.  We recommend you ignore it.  We detail our reasoning here. We have been quiet for some time.  There are reasons for that.  First there was not much to report since the last session of […]

Continue Reading

Can they defund the pension?

Several people have contact us about the demand by the protestors and rioters in Seattle that they defund the police and pensions as well. Well, they can’t. Take a look at this article from Newsweek that explains the issue quite well. A demand from demonstrators in Seattle’s Capitol Hill Organized/Occupied Protest (CHOP) to scrap funding […]

Continue Reading