Support SB 5791

What to do? There are two pension bills being considered by the Senate Ways and Means Committee SB 5652 for LEOFF 2 and SB 5791 for LEOFF 1.  Both bills address the same subject, an enhanced benefit, a payment to members and surviving spouses out of each pension system surplus.  SB 5652 provides a benefit […]

Continue Reading

WSCFF Letter and Pension Bills

The Washington State Council of Firefighters (WSCFF) has sent out a letter to approximately 6,800 LEOFF 1 members.  It is a recruitment letter along with a DRS payroll deduction form for a $6.00 per month deduction or $72.00 per year.  The dues are equal to 25 percent of an active firefighter’s dues. The letter was […]

Continue Reading

Senate Bills & Hearing

Several pension bills have been introduced. Three of the retirement bills that have been introduced are of particular interest to our members, HB 1701, SB 5652 deal with the LEOFF II Retirement System. The bills increase the service credit allowance. Currently in both LEOFF I and LEOFF II for a service retirement the retired member […]

Continue Reading

LEOFF Hearings This Week

Important hearings are scheduled on bills impacting LEOFF 1 & 2. SB 5652 and HB 1701 are companion bills that will provide benefit enhancements for LEOFF 2 Active and Retired members. SB 5791 is the same as SB 5652 except that it extends the same benefits to Active and Retired LEOFF members as well. Please […]

Continue Reading

HB 1701 – A LEOFF 2 Bill

Everyone should be aware that the Legislature will start a new session on January 10, 2022.  It is a sixty-day session and will be a “virtual” session like the last one.  There have already been a lot of bills pre-filed.  Several are targeted at fixing some of the anti-police bills passed in the last session.  […]

Continue Reading

5453 Research

The following articles deal with merger issues. There are lots more on this site but these should provide some good background info. TRS Underfundinghttps://leoff1.net/2016/09/04/trs-underfunding/ By Admin on September 4, 2016 in 2016 Legislature, LEOFF 1/TRS 1 Merger, Merger One of the major concerns of LEOFF 1 members about the proposed TRS 1/LEOFF 1 merger is […]

Continue Reading

2021 Legislature – Senate Ways & Means

Senate Ways and Means Committee Phone Email Christine Rolfes, (360) 786-7644 christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov David Frockt, (360) 786-7690 david.frockt@leg.wa.gov June Robinson, (360) 786-7674 june.robinson@leg.wa.gov Lynda Wilson, (360) 786-7632 lynda.wilson@leg.wa.gov Sharon Brown, (360) 786-7614 sharon.brown@leg.wa.gov Jim Honeyford, (360) 786-7684 jim.honeyford@leg.wa.gov Mark Schoesler, (360) 786-7620 mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov John Braun (360) 786-7638 john.braun@leg.wa.gov Reuven Carlyle (360) 786-7670 reuven.carlyle@leg.wa.gov Steve Conway (360) […]

Continue Reading

Here we go again!

On Friday the 12th a new bill was dropped in the Senate.That bill, SB 5453, is the latest version of a merger.(Download the bill here.) This new plan would do the following: Merge TRS Plan 1 and LEOFF Plan 1 into a new retirement system, called “the merged LEOFF1/TRS1 retirement plan. Provides a $20,000 payment […]

Continue Reading

Public Records Request

The Department of Retirement Systems has received a public records request that The Seattle Times seeks information about all members of the state’s retirement systems, including all retirees and inactive members, for the period July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020. This is a recurring request, and DRS has provided to this requestor the same […]

Continue Reading