The LEOFF 1 Pension system is under the management of the Washington State Department of Retirement Services.  They are an excellent source of information about the system.  On their website you will find links to many important publications dealing with the LEOFF 1 pension plan.

LEOFF 1 members report that the DRS personnel are generally helpful and informative.  It is a good place to start with general non-political questions.

Contact Information:

PO Box 48380
Olympia, WA 98504-8380

(360) 664-7000
Toll-free 1-800-547-6657

Website:  http://www.drs.wa.gov/

Director:  Tracy Guerin

Tracy Guerin
DRS Director

Governor Jay Inslee appointed Tracy Guerin Director of the state Department of Retirement Systems in September 2016. She also serves as an ex officio member of the Washington State Investment Board, the Pension Funding Council and the Select Committee on Pension Policy.

As DRS Director, Tracy leads an organization of more than 200 team members who administer one of the most complex public retirement systems in the country. DRS serves over 725,000 current and former public employees at both the state and local government levels. Retirement benefits earned by these employees result in more than $3.5 billion in payments each year, most of which is distributed in the state of Washington.

Tracy began her career with Washington state government at the Department of Labor and Industries. Over the past 30 years, she has worked at numerous state agencies, most recently serving as Deputy Director of the Office of Financial Management. She has also served as Chief of Staff for the Department of Social and Health Services, Deputy Director at the Department of Corrections and the Department of Information Services, and as Deputy Secretary for the Office of the Secretary of State.

Tracy was raised in Washington, attended Washington State University and completed her bachelor’s degree at The Evergreen State College. She has completed the Strategic Leadership for State Executives program at Duke University as well as executive education programs through the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. She received the Governor’s Management and Leadership Award in 2012.

Follow us on Facebook