Budget Negotiations

The Senate has passed its budget proposal and the House has issued theirs. Since each chamber has revealed its budget proposal, budget negotiations will soon begin in earnest.  These negotiations are always done in secret by a small specially selected group from each house. Occasional updates are provided by legislative leadership to the media. As has […]

Continue Reading

Dueling Budgets

Dueling Budgets Merger of LEOFF 1 with any other system did not appear in either the Senate or House proposed budgets. While it now appears we are safe for this legislative session it is important to remember that the session is far from over.  Additionally, there is a significant disparity between the two budget proposals.  […]

Continue Reading

Senate Budget Proposal Attacks LEOFF 2 – No Merger

Senate Releases 2017-2019 Omnibus Operating Budget (PSSB 5048)  The Senate released their 2017-2019 Omnibus Operating Budget (PSSB 5048) March 21st.. Issues Impacting LEOFF Plan 2: Contribution Rates (Sections 939 & 940) Except for fire protection districts, the State contribution to LEOFF Plan 2 is eliminated making the contribution rate funding ratio 50% member and 50% […]

Continue Reading

State workers, police and firefighter pensions lose in Senate GOP budget

See this article in the Olympian… By Melissa Santos msantos@thenewstribune.com It’s not the first time Senate Republicans have proposed rejecting negotiated pay increases for state workers, while offering flat annual raises that would be cheaper. And just like before, those alternate raises aren’t something lawmakers have the power to impose. Leaders of the conservative Senate […]

Continue Reading

2016 COLA | 2.28%

The COLA for 2016 is estimated to be 2.28%.  This is based on calculations using the BLS CPI tables but the official number will have to wait until the Actuary makes the calculation.  OSA usually releases that figure in March. Consumer Price Index – Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers Series Id: CWUSA423AA0 Not Seasonally […]

Continue Reading

Getting Up to Date

The infamous TRS 1/LEOFF 1 merger study was completed by the SCPP in December and submitted to the legislature on January 9th.  There has not been much in the way of public discussion of the issue since that time. Note: you can see the final study at the following location: http://leg.wa.gov/SCPP/Publications/Pages/FinalSCPP2016MergerStudy.aspx David Pringle of the […]

Continue Reading

House Email Addresses – 2017

65th Legislature – House 2017 Name E-mail District Shelley Kloba Shelley.Kloba@leg.wa.gov District 01 Derek Stanford Derek.Stanford@leg.wa.gov District 01 Gary Alexander gary.alexander@leg.wa.gov  District 02 J.T. Wilcox jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov  District 02 Timm Ormsby timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov  District 03 Marcus Riccelli marcus.riccelli@leg.wa.gov  District 03 Jay Rodne jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov  District 05 Paul Graves Paul.Graves@leg.wa.gov District 05 Jeff Holy jeff.holy@leg.wa.gov  District 06 Mike Volz […]

Continue Reading

Senate Email Addresses 2017

Email addresses for the Senate.  65th Legislative Session (2017) 65th Legislature – Senators Senator E-mail District Party Guy Palumbo Guy.Palumbo@leg.wa.gov District 01 D Randi Becker randi.becker@leg.wa.gov District 02 R Andy Billig andy.billig@leg.wa.gov District 03 D Mike Padden mike.padden@leg.wa.gov District 04 R Mark Mullet mark.mullet@leg.wa.gov District 05 D Michael Baumgartner michael.baumgartner@leg.wa.gov District 06 R Shelly Short […]

Continue Reading

Treachery

Published 09/18/2016 It is not uncommon to hear our elected officials heap praise onto the first responders.  Of course this is always more common around September 11th and other major events where a police officer or fire fighter has sacrificed his or her life trying to save someone else.  Of course the praise fades quickly when […]

Continue Reading