Recent News


Follow us on Facebook! » Read More
View News Archive

Recent Articles

The 2017 Legislative Session has reached the mid-point, the 55th day of the regular 105 day session.  At this point there have been 1,997 bills introduced.  There has not been a pension merger bill introduced as of today.  Wednesday March 8, 2017 is the cutoff date for a bill to be passed out of its house of origin, meaning that if a bill was introduced in the House as a House Bill it has to be passed out of the House and over to the Senate by March 8th. Likewise, if the bill was introduced in the Senate it has to be passed by the Senate and over to the House by March 8th.

2016 COLA | 2.28%

The COLA for 2016 is estimated to be 2.28%.  This is based on calculations using the BLS CPI tables but the official number will have to wait until the Actuary makes the calculation.  OSA usually releases that figure in March.  See the Full Story for the index numbers and the calculation.

Mark Twain

“No man's life, liberty, or property are safe while the legislature is in session.”  Mark Twain
RFFOW Director Roy Orlando and I attended a luncheon with the Tacoma Retired Police Officers Association. We discussed the history of the Retired Firefighters of Washington, our meeting schedule, monthly Newsletter, and election of officers. We explained what we do and what we have accomplished in Olympia. We also discussed the many issues where we have helped both retired police, firefighters and widows who have a problem with the Department of Retirement Systems in Olympia or with local disability or pension boards, highlighting the recent issues with the cities of Edmonds, Longview, Bremerton and Snohomish County Fire District #1.
The Retired Firefighters of Washington are opposed to the merger of the Law Enforcement Officers and Firefighters Pension Plan 1 (LEOFF 1) with the Teachers Retirement Systems Plan 1 Pension (TRS 1). The following is a list of concerns related to TRS 1 as iit stands now and the how the proposed merger may effect it:

Senate Email Addresses 2017

Email addresses for the Senate.  65th Legislative Session (2017)

65th Legislature - Senators  
Senator E-mail District Party
Guy Palumbo District 01  D
Randi Becker District 02 R
Andy Billig District 03 D
Mike Padden District 04 R
Mark Mullet District 05 D
Michael Baumgartner District 06 R
Shelly Short District 07  R
Sharon Brown District 08 R
Mark Schoesler District 09 R
Barbara Bailey District 10 R
Bob Hasegawa District 11 D
Brad Hawkins District 12  R
Judy Warnick District 13  R
Curtis King District 14 R
Jim Honeyford District 15 R
Maureen Walsh District 16  R
Lynda Wilson District 17  R
Ann Rivers District 18 R
Dean Takko District 19 D
John Braun District 20 R
Marko Liias District 21 D
Sam Hunt District 22  D
Christine Rolfes District 23 D
Kevin Van De Wege District 24  D
Hans Zeiger District 25  R
Jan Angel District 26 R
Jeannie Darneille Jeannie.Darneille@leg.wa.go District 27 D
Steve O'Ban District 28 R
Steve Conway District 29 D
Mark Miloscia District 30 R
Phil Fortunato District 31  R
Maralyn Chase District 32 D
Karen Keiser District 33 D
Sharon Nelson District 34 D
Tim Sheldon District 35 D
Reuven Carlyle District 36 D
Rebecca Saldaña District 37  D
John McCoy District 38 D
Kirk Pearson District 39 R
Kevin Ranker District 40 D
Lisa Wellman District 41  D
Doug Ericksen District 42 R
Jamie Pedersen District 43 D
Steve Hobbs District 44 D
Dino Rossi District 45  R
David Frockt District 46 D
Joe Fain District 47 R
Patty Kuderer District 48  D
Annette Cleveland District 49 D

House of Representatives Email - 2017

Email addresses of the House for 65th Legislative Session (2017)
65th Legislature - House 2017
Name E-mail District
Shelley Kloba District 01 
Derek Stanford District 01 
Gary Alexander  District 02
J.T. Wilcox  District 02
Timm Ormsby  District 03
Marcus Riccelli  District 03
Jay Rodne  District 05
Paul Graves District 05 
Jeff Holy  District 06
Mike Volz District 06 
Joel Kretz  District 07
Jacquelin Maycumber District 07 
Larry Haler  District 08
Brad Klippert  District 08
Joe Schmick  District 09
Mary Dye District 09 
Dave Hayes  District 10
Norma Smith  District 10
Steve Bergquist  District 11
Zack Hudgins  District 11
Cary Condotta  District 12
Mike Steele District 12 
Matt Manweller  District 13
Tom Dent District 13 
Norm Johnson  District 14
Gina McCabe District 14 
Bruce Chandler  District 15
David Taylor  District 15
Terry Nealey  District 16
Bill Jenkin District 16 
Paul Harris  District 17
Vicki Kraft District 17 
Liz Pike  District 18
Brandon Vick  District 18
Brian Blake  District 19
Jim Walsh District 19 
Richard DeBolt  District 20
Ed Orcutt  District 20
Lillian Ortiz-Self District 21 
Strom Peterson District 21 
Beth Doglio District 22 
Laurie Dolan District 22 
Sherry Appleton  District 23
Drew Hansen  District 23
Steve Tharinger  District 24
Mike Chapman District 24 
Joyce McDonald District 25 
Melanie Stambaugh District 25 
Michelle Caldier District 26 
Jesse Young District 26 
Jake Fey  District 27
Laurie Jinkins  District 27
Christine Kilduff District 28 
Dick Muri District 28 
Steve Kirby  District 29
David Sawyer  District 29
Mike Pellicciotti District 30 
Kristine Reeves District 30 
Morgan Irwin District 31 
Drew Stokesbary District 31 
Ruth Kagi  District 32
Cindy Ryu  District 32
Tina Orwall  District 33
Mia Gregerson District 33 
Eileen Cody  District 34
Joe Fitzgibbon  District 34
Drew MacEwen  District 35
Dan Griffey District 35 
Gael Tarleton  District 36
Noel Frame District 36 
Eric Pettigrew  District 37
Sharon Tomiko Santos  District 37
Mike Sells  District 38
June Robinson District 38 
Dan Kristiansen  District 39
John Koster District 39 
Matt Shea  District 4
Bob McCaslin District 4 
Kristine Lytton  District 40
Jeff Morris  District 40
Judy Clibborn  District 41
Tana Senn District 41 
Vincent Buys  District 42
Luanne Van Werven District 42 
Frank Chopp  District 43
Nicole Macri District 43 
Mark Harmsworth District 44 
John Lovick District 44 
Roger Goodman  District 45
Larry Springer  District 45
Jessyn Farrell  District 46
Gerry Pollet  District 46
Mark Hargrove  District 47
Pat Sullivan  District 47
Joan McBride District 48 
Vandana Slatter District 48 
Sharon Wylie  District 49
Monica Jurado Stonier District 49 

What's happening in Olympia?

The Legislature will convene for a Regular Session on January 9, 2017.

Regular Session is scheduled to end on or by April 23, 2017.

As of now we have no rumors of any new merger bill.  Be sure to follow us here.  We will be on vacation until the 25th but will be following the actions and will send out a notification if anything big surfaces.

No articles found.
No popular authors found.
No popular articles found.