Recent News

FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK

Follow us on Facebook! » Read More
View News Archive

Recent Articles

The 2017 Legislative Session has reached the mid-point, the 55th day of the regular 105 day session.  At this point there have been 1,997 bills introduced.  There has not been a pension merger bill introduced as of today.  Wednesday March 8, 2017 is the cutoff date for a bill to be passed out of its house of origin, meaning that if a bill was introduced in the House as a House Bill it has to be passed out of the House and over to the Senate by March 8th. Likewise, if the bill was introduced in the Senate it has to be passed by the Senate and over to the House by March 8th.

2016 COLA | 2.28%

The COLA for 2016 is estimated to be 2.28%.  This is based on calculations using the BLS CPI tables but the official number will have to wait until the Actuary makes the calculation.  OSA usually releases that figure in March.  See the Full Story for the index numbers and the calculation.

Mark Twain



“No man's life, liberty, or property are safe while the legislature is in session.”  Mark Twain
RFFOW Director Roy Orlando and I attended a luncheon with the Tacoma Retired Police Officers Association. We discussed the history of the Retired Firefighters of Washington, our meeting schedule, monthly Newsletter, and election of officers. We explained what we do and what we have accomplished in Olympia. We also discussed the many issues where we have helped both retired police, firefighters and widows who have a problem with the Department of Retirement Systems in Olympia or with local disability or pension boards, highlighting the recent issues with the cities of Edmonds, Longview, Bremerton and Snohomish County Fire District #1.
The Retired Firefighters of Washington are opposed to the merger of the Law Enforcement Officers and Firefighters Pension Plan 1 (LEOFF 1) with the Teachers Retirement Systems Plan 1 Pension (TRS 1). The following is a list of concerns related to TRS 1 as iit stands now and the how the proposed merger may effect it:

Senate Email Addresses 2017

Email addresses for the Senate.  65th Legislative Session (2017)

65th Legislature - Senators  
Senator E-mail District Party
Guy Palumbo Guy.Palumbo@leg.wa.gov District 01  D
Randi Becker randi.becker@leg.wa.gov District 02 R
Andy Billig andy.billig@leg.wa.gov District 03 D
Mike Padden mike.padden@leg.wa.gov District 04 R
Mark Mullet mark.mullet@leg.wa.gov District 05 D
Michael Baumgartner michael.baumgartner@leg.wa.gov District 06 R
Shelly Short Shelly.Short@leg.wa.gov District 07  R
Sharon Brown sharon.brown@leg.wa.gov District 08 R
Mark Schoesler mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov District 09 R
Barbara Bailey barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov District 10 R
Bob Hasegawa bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov District 11 D
Brad Hawkins Brad.Hawkins@leg.wa.gov District 12  R
Judy Warnick Judy.Warnick@leg.wa.gov District 13  R
Curtis King curtis.king@leg.wa.gov District 14 R
Jim Honeyford jim.honeyford@leg.wa.gov District 15 R
Maureen Walsh Maureen.Walsh@leg.wa.gov District 16  R
Lynda Wilson Lynda.Wilson@leg.wa.gov District 17  R
Ann Rivers ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov District 18 R
Dean Takko dean.takko@leg.wa.gov District 19 D
John Braun john.braun@leg.wa.gov District 20 R
Marko Liias marko.liias@leg.wa.gov District 21 D
Sam Hunt Sam.Hunt@leg.wa.gov District 22  D
Christine Rolfes christine.rolfes@leg.wa.gov District 23 D
Kevin Van De Wege Kevin.VanDeWege@leg.wa.gov District 24  D
Hans Zeiger Hans.Zeiger@leg.wa.gov District 25  R
Jan Angel jan.angel@leg.wa.gov District 26 R
Jeannie Darneille Jeannie.Darneille@leg.wa.go District 27 D
Steve O'Ban steve.oban@leg.wa.gov District 28 R
Steve Conway steve.conway@leg.wa.gov District 29 D
Mark Miloscia mark.miloscia@leg.wa.gov District 30 R
Phil Fortunato phil.fortunato@leg.wa.gov District 31  R
Maralyn Chase maralyn.chase@leg.wa.gov District 32 D
Karen Keiser karen.keiser@leg.wa.gov District 33 D
Sharon Nelson sharon.nelson@leg.wa.gov District 34 D
Tim Sheldon timothy.sheldon@leg.wa.gov District 35 D
Reuven Carlyle reuven.carlyle@leg.wa.gov District 36 D
Rebecca Saldaña Rebecca.Saldana@leg.wa.gov District 37  D
John McCoy john.mccoy@leg.wa.gov District 38 D
Kirk Pearson kirk.pearson@leg.wa.gov District 39 R
Kevin Ranker kevin.ranker@leg.wa.gov District 40 D
Lisa Wellman Lisa.Wellman@leg.wa.gov District 41  D
Doug Ericksen doug.ericksen@leg.wa.gov District 42 R
Jamie Pedersen jamie.pedersen@leg.wa.gov District 43 D
Steve Hobbs steve.hobbs@leg.wa.gov District 44 D
Dino Rossi Dino.Rossi@leg.wa.gov District 45  R
David Frockt david.frockt@leg.wa.gov District 46 D
Joe Fain joe.fain@leg.wa.gov District 47 R
Patty Kuderer Kuderer.Patty@leg.wa.gov District 48  D
Annette Cleveland annette.cleveland@leg.wa.gov District 49 D

House of Representatives Email - 2017

Email addresses of the House for 65th Legislative Session (2017)
65th Legislature - House 2017
Name E-mail District
Shelley Kloba Shelley.Kloba@leg.wa.gov District 01 
Derek Stanford Derek.Stanford@leg.wa.gov District 01 
Gary Alexander gary.alexander@leg.wa.gov  District 02
J.T. Wilcox jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov  District 02
Timm Ormsby timm.ormsby@leg.wa.gov  District 03
Marcus Riccelli marcus.riccelli@leg.wa.gov  District 03
Jay Rodne jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov  District 05
Paul Graves Paul.Graves@leg.wa.gov District 05 
Jeff Holy jeff.holy@leg.wa.gov  District 06
Mike Volz Mike.Volz@leg.wa.gov District 06 
Joel Kretz joel.kretz@leg.wa.gov  District 07
Jacquelin Maycumber Jacquelin.Maycumber@leg.wa.gov District 07 
Larry Haler larry.haler@leg.wa.gov  District 08
Brad Klippert brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov  District 08
Joe Schmick joe.schmick@leg.wa.gov  District 09
Mary Dye Mary.Dye@leg.wa.gov District 09 
Dave Hayes dave.hayes@leg.wa.gov  District 10
Norma Smith norma.smith@leg.wa.gov  District 10
Steve Bergquist steve.bergquist@leg.wa.gov  District 11
Zack Hudgins zack.hudgins@leg.wa.gov  District 11
Cary Condotta cary.condotta@leg.wa.gov  District 12
Mike Steele mike.steele@leg.wa.gov District 12 
Matt Manweller matt.manweller@leg.wa.gov  District 13
Tom Dent Tom.Dent@leg.wa.gov District 13 
Norm Johnson norm.johnson@leg.wa.gov  District 14
Gina McCabe Gina.McCabe@leg.wa.gov District 14 
Bruce Chandler bruce.chandler@leg.wa.gov  District 15
David Taylor david.taylor@leg.wa.gov  District 15
Terry Nealey terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov  District 16
Bill Jenkin Bill.Jenkin@leg.wa.gov District 16 
Paul Harris paul.harris@leg.wa.gov  District 17
Vicki Kraft Vicki.Kraft@leg.wa.gov District 17 
Liz Pike liz.pike@leg.wa.gov  District 18
Brandon Vick brandon.vick@leg.wa.gov  District 18
Brian Blake brian.blake@leg.wa.gov  District 19
Jim Walsh Jim.Walsh@leg.wa.gov District 19 
Richard DeBolt richard.debolt@leg.wa.gov  District 20
Ed Orcutt ed.orcutt@leg.wa.gov  District 20
Lillian Ortiz-Self Lillian.Ortiz-Self@leg.wa.gov District 21 
Strom Peterson Strom.Peterson@leg.wa.gov District 21 
Beth Doglio Beth.Doglio@leg.wa.gov District 22 
Laurie Dolan Laurie.Dolan@leg.wa.gov District 22 
Sherry Appleton sherry.appleton@leg.wa.gov  District 23
Drew Hansen drew.hansen@leg.wa.gov  District 23
Steve Tharinger steve.tharinger@leg.wa.gov  District 24
Mike Chapman Mike.Chapman@leg.wa.gov District 24 
Joyce McDonald Joyce.McDonald@leg.wa.gov District 25 
Melanie Stambaugh Melanie.Stambaugh@leg.wa.gov District 25 
Michelle Caldier Michelle.Caldier@leg.wa.gov District 26 
Jesse Young Jesse.Young@leg.wa.gov District 26 
Jake Fey jake.fey@leg.wa.gov  District 27
Laurie Jinkins laurie.jinkins@leg.wa.gov  District 27
Christine Kilduff Christine.Kilduff@leg.wa.gov District 28 
Dick Muri Dick.Muri@leg.wa.gov District 28 
Steve Kirby steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov  District 29
David Sawyer david.sawyer@leg.wa.gov  District 29
Mike Pellicciotti Mike.Pellicciotti@leg.wa.gov District 30 
Kristine Reeves Kristine.Reeves@leg.wa.gov District 30 
Morgan Irwin Morgan.Irwin@leg.wa.gov District 31 
Drew Stokesbary Drew.Stokesbary@leg.wa.gov District 31 
Ruth Kagi ruth.kagi@leg.wa.gov  District 32
Cindy Ryu cindy.ryu@leg.wa.gov  District 32
Tina Orwall tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov  District 33
Mia Gregerson Mia.Gregerson@leg.wa.gov District 33 
Eileen Cody eileen.cody@leg.wa.gov  District 34
Joe Fitzgibbon joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov  District 34
Drew MacEwen drew.macewen@leg.wa.gov  District 35
Dan Griffey Dan.Griffey@leg.wa.gov District 35 
Gael Tarleton gael.tarleton@leg.wa.gov  District 36
Noel Frame Noel.Frame@leg.wa.gov District 36 
Eric Pettigrew eric.pettigrew@leg.wa.gov  District 37
Sharon Tomiko Santos sharontomiko.santos@leg.wa.gov  District 37
Mike Sells mike.sells@leg.wa.gov  District 38
June Robinson June.Robinson@leg.wa.gov District 38 
Dan Kristiansen dan.kristiansen@leg.wa.gov  District 39
John Koster john.koster@leg.wa.gov District 39 
Matt Shea matt.shea@leg.wa.gov  District 4
Bob McCaslin Bob.McCaslin@leg.wa.gov District 4 
Kristine Lytton kristine.lytton@leg.wa.gov  District 40
Jeff Morris jeff.morris@leg.wa.gov  District 40
Judy Clibborn judy.clibborn@leg.wa.gov  District 41
Tana Senn Tana.Senn@leg.wa.gov District 41 
Vincent Buys vincent.buys@leg.wa.gov  District 42
Luanne Van Werven Luanne.VanWerven@leg.wa.gov District 42 
Frank Chopp frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov  District 43
Nicole Macri Nicole.Macri@leg.wa.gov District 43 
Mark Harmsworth Mark.Harmsworth@leg.wa.gov District 44 
John Lovick John.Lovick@leg.wa.gov District 44 
Roger Goodman roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov  District 45
Larry Springer larry.springer@leg.wa.gov  District 45
Jessyn Farrell jessyn.farrell@leg.wa.gov  District 46
Gerry Pollet gerry.pollet@leg.wa.gov  District 46
Mark Hargrove mark.hargrove@leg.wa.gov  District 47
Pat Sullivan pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov  District 47
Joan McBride Joan.McBride@leg.wa.gov District 48 
Vandana Slatter Vandana.Slatter@leg.wa.gov District 48 
Sharon Wylie sharon.wylie@leg.wa.gov  District 49
Monica Jurado Stonier Monica.Stonier@leg.wa.gov District 49 

What's happening in Olympia?

The Legislature will convene for a Regular Session on January 9, 2017.

Regular Session is scheduled to end on or by April 23, 2017.

As of now we have no rumors of any new merger bill.  Be sure to follow us here.  We will be on vacation until the 25th but will be following the actions and will send out a notification if anything big surfaces.

No articles found.
No popular authors found.
No popular articles found.